A blog for people who take books seriously, but little else.

What I Read On My Christmas Vacation

new-year-2013

Since we last met, I’ve been reading for my own pleasure. This is not to say the books I am requested to review, or chose to review are not a pleasure. Most often they are. I think it’s the pressure of a deadline. Obviously, I don’t often allow myself to be pressured, as you’ll note by my sporadic entries.  Still, I want to share with you as often as I can. So my little vacation was enjoyable and carefree. Since I haven’t yet begun the next book I intend to share with you, I’m going to borrow from my childhood to give you:

What I Read On My Christmas Vacation

1. Death of a Kingdom(The Norothian Cycle), by M. Edward McNally- As I have shared with you my feelings about the first book in this series, The Sable City, I will merely say that this volume continues the tradition of excellence. Again, the characters are what make this book. If you enjoyed The Sable City, you’ll enjoy this one even more!

2. The Eclective: The Apocalypse Collection- I’ve introduced you all to the Eclective, and these stories are up to the standards of the previous collection I discussed with you. Even thought the world did not end, you’ll enjoy these visions of what might have been, or might yet be.

3. Driving Me Nuts, by PJ Jones- I envy the ability of authors to share the trauma of mental illness with humor and heart. Anytime I contemplate writing about my illness, I imagine some terrible melodrama. Jones is a virtuoso of comedy, but this novel is very different from the author’s other works. Although comedy is definitely a major component here, the work is very true to life and the realities of working through issues and coming out the other side. This was a moving read.

4. “A Face in the Crowd”, by Stephen King and Stewart O’Nan- One of the nicest things about the e-book revolution is the capacity to buy a single story. Although many people predicted the short story’s death a very short time ago, the form seems to be reviving with the ability to send these babies out all on their own. Amusingly, the man who is often criticized for his wordiness has never stopped turning out these self-contained bursts of story like a well-tipped bartender pouring tequila shots. “A Face in the Crowd” reads like a classic Twilight Zone episode, and is just plain spooky fun.

5. “In the Tall Grass”, by Stephen King- This is a longer story that does not go where anyone could be expecting. Again, the King of “overwriting” is perfectly capable of creating credible characters with brevity. THIS STORY IS DISTURBING. Think of the King stories that have unsettled you the most, then prepare for him to kick it up a notch.

6. Dodger, by Terry Pratchett- A Dickensian historical fantasy only seems to be a departure for Sir Terry. His work in Discworld has been filled with much of this flavor, and those of us who read his work on a regular basis will benefit from knowledge we’ve gained there. Dodger is a unique, intriguing novel, which combines actual historical figures with literary creations of the time, and Pratchett’s own amazing characters to take readers to a London they’ve heard about, but never really got to know. Mystery, comedy, romance, and a bit with a dog. What more could I ask?

In the New Year, I hope to give you more regular reviews, and some extra fun that I haven’t quite dreamed up yet! I look forward to taking Imaqulotta’s Irreverent Book Blog to the next level.

Irreverent comments welcome!

