A blog for people who take books seriously, but little else.

As usual, sometimes Real Life happens.

Image

This was my dog, Froggie. He escaped our house yesterday, was taken to http://www.coj.net/departments/neighborhoods/animal-care—protective-services.aspx, and murdered there, in the night, with no chance for us to retrieve him. He had a brain tumor, which we were watching along with our former vet, who claimed to have no knowledge of him when called. He did not seem to be in pain yesterday morning, but apparently was assumed to be by these idiots, and killed. I do not wish bad things on people anymore, but I hope they get whatever Karma thinks they deserve. I do have about half a post started. I know y’all don’t come here to see me whine. I hope to have my newest post finished by the end of the weekend.

4 responses

  1. Of course, I can’t like this post. It’s grotesque and horrible. I hope when you are able, you write the former vet who claimed no knowledge a long letter. You might also report the business to your local BBB. Innocent pet owners need to know about this. It’s inexcusable.

    February 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    • They’d say they see to many pets to remember him, and the tag he was wearing was out of date, and possibly Nellie’s. I just can’t imagine how you can forget a 120 pound lab mix with a giant conical tumor on his head. We’ve been taking animals to them for 30 gods-damned years. There is an excuse, but it’s a lame one. And, I cannot imagine how he seemed to be in such terrible pain to them, but not to us. He was probably scared to death and wondering what the hell happened to his life. And then, they took it. Of course, I do not hope they die in a fire. That would be wrong.

      February 22, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  2. How terrible! You didn’t get to say goodbye and he shouldn’t have died like this. This is so tragic and I’m just so sorry.

    February 22, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    • Thank you so much. I’m frankly pissed as hell. Trying to get my head on straight.

      February 23, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Irreverent comments welcome!

